The Torque Series

Torque SeriesThe band world constantly embraces new literature, but there is a surprising dearth of strong works for the earlier grades. To meet that demand, Michael Torke has created The Torque Series. Each work in this series is approximately 4 minutes long, at a grade 4 difficulty level, yet still filled with the color and vitality of Torke’s well-known and often performed orchestra works. The first works that are available are:

  1. Lasers
  2. Hang Gliding
  3. Gothic Night
  4. Granite

They can be played individually or together in any combination. Click here to see the instrumentation for each title.

The premiere performance of the Torque Series was given by the Midwest Young Artists Honors Wind Symphony, James Ripley, conductor, on May 5, 2013 at Bennett Gordon Concert Hall, Ravinia, in Highland Park, IL.